The TA programme is open to researchers working in EU Member States (EU-28) and Associated countries. Associated countries of the EU include: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, Switzerland and Turkey.

The two main criteria to be met are:

  1. Localisation of establishment: The individual TA applicant, or in the case of a group application, the group leader and the majority of the group (> 50 %) should be employed by an organisation established in an EU Member State or Associated country.
  2. Trans-nationality: The TA applicant, or group, should be established in an EU Member State or Associated country, different from that of the legal entity operating the infrastructure (e.g. a researcher based in Italy cannot apply for a TA grant to an Italian facility).

* The nationality of the individual group members is irrelevant.

Caveat: Researchers from non-EU Member States are eligible to apply for funding if they make their application as a member of a user group involved in an international project with a strong European link. The user group leader and majority (i.e. 50% or more) of the users must be employed by public or private institutions within the EU Member States or Associated countries.

Please note, in the case of group applications, that only ONE person will be eligible for travel and subsistence reimbursement at the end of the TA visit.